Match Zone

Match Preview – Shrewsbury Town (H)

Image for Match Preview – Shrewsbury Town (H)

Tomorrow afternoon sees the Alex host Shrewsbury Town with the visitors squad potentially containing former Alex players Elliott Bennett and Daniel Udoh.

This Season:

They sit in 15th place following wins against Gillingham, AFC Wimbledon, MK Dons, Cambridge United, Charlton Athletic, Cheltenham Town, Fleetwood Town and Sheffield Wednesday, they have drawn with us, Sheff Wed, Lincoln City, Sunderland and Accrington Stanley while they have lost against Burton Albion, Morecambe, Portsmouth, Accrington, Wycombe Wanderers, Bolton Wanderers, Ipswich Town, Oxford United, Cheltenham, Wigan Athletic and Doncaster Rovers.

They lost to Rochdale in the Carabao Cup 2nd Round after knocking out Lincoln on penalties while they lost to Liverpool in the FA Cup 3rd Round after knocking out both Stratford Town and Carlisle United. They finished 3rd in their EFL Trophy group following defeats to us and Wigan Athletic either side of beating Wolverhampton Wanderers’ Under-21s.


The only signing they have made since the last meeting is forward Saikou Janneh arriving from Bristol City.


Alex Wins: 16
Shrews Wins: 18
Draws: 14

Biggest Alex Win: 5-1 at the Alexandra Stadium in November 1996
Biggest Shrews Win: 4-1 at Gay Meadow in December 1992

Last Meeting:

Shrewsbury Town 1-1 Crewe Alexandra, 11th September 2021

Sam Cosgrove opened the scoring for the hosts in the 19th minute before Mika Mandron equalised a minute before the break.

Alex: Jaaskelainen; Offord, Daniels, Thomas; Ramsay, Murphy, Robertson, Adebisi (McFadzean 90); Kashket (Porter 86), Mandron, Bennett (Finney 90)

Shrews: Marosi; Pennington, Ebanks-Landell, Pierre (Nurse 76); Bennett, Vela, Davis, Leahy; Bloxham (Udoh 64), Cosgrove (Bowman 71), Whalley

Played for Both:

The following players have been contracted to both teams:

Goalkeepers: Joe Anyon, David Button, Paul Edwards, Geoff Hickson, Ken Mulhearn, John Phillips, Steve Phillips, Jack Prince, Scott Shearer

Defenders: Arthur Allman, David Artell, Omar Beckles, Danny Bowers, Junior Brown, Sagi Burton, David Collier, Mark Ellis, Darran Kempson, Olly Lancashire, Joe Maloney, Darren Moss, Colin Murdock, Danny O’Donnell, Michael Jackson, Matt Tootle, Dave Walton, Julian Watts

Midfielders: Lee Bell, Elliott Bennett, Keith Briggs, Maurice Doyle, Peter Farrell, William Galley, Anthony Grant, David Fox, Albert Harley, Stan Keery, Tony Rigby, Antoni Sarcevic, Gylfi Sigurdsson, Neil Sorvel, Kevin Street, Brad Walker

Forwards: Steve Anthrobus, John Clowes, Colin Cramb, John Cull, Steve Guinan, John Grant, Terry Harkin, Fred Haycock, AJ Leitch-Smith, Ryan Lowe, Mikael Mandron, John Manning, Shaun Miller, John Moore, Percy Oldacre, Reg Phillips, Chris Porter, John Regan, Luke Rodgers, Darran Rowbotham, Michael Symes, Alan Tarbuck, Daniel Udoh, Dave Waller


The officials for this game have been announced here with Gavin Ward the referee, Bhupinder Gill and Mark Dwyer are his assistants with Declan Bourne the fourth official. The following Crewe games have been refereed by Ward in the last 5 years:

  • Exeter City 4-0 Crewe Alexandra (4th February 2017)
  • Crewe Alexandra 2-2 Notts County (14th April 2017)

Share this article