Match Zone

Match Preview – Sheffield Wednesday (A)

Image for Match Preview – Sheffield Wednesday (A)

Tomorrow evening sees Crewe Alexandra make the trip to Hillsborough to face play-off contenders Sheffield Wednesday.

This Season:

They sit in 7th place following wins against Doncaster Rovers twice, Fleetwood Town, Rotherham United, Wigan Athletic twice, Bolton Wanderers, us, Plymouth Argyle, Ipswich Town, Morecambe, Burton Albion twice, Charlton Athletic, Cambridge United, Cheltenham Town, AFC Wimbledon and MK Dons, they have drawn with Charlton, Shrewsbury Town, Ipswich, AFC Wimbledon, Cambridge United, Lincoln City, Cheltenham, Gillingham twice, Wycombe Wanderers, Portsmouth, Accrington Stanley and Bolton while they have lost against Morecambe, Plymouth Argyle, Oxford United twice, Sunderland, Rotherham and Lincoln.

They lost to Huddersfield Town on penalties in the Carabao Cup 1st Round and Plymouth Argyle after a replay at the same round of the FA Cup. They finished top in their EFL Trophy group with wins over Newcastle United’s Under-21, Mansfield Town and Harrogate Town before losing to Hartlepool United in Round 2.


Since the last meeting, they have signed defenders Jordan Storey and Harlee Dean as well as forward Tyreece John-Jules (all on loan deals).

They have allowed forward Korede Adedoyin to join Accrington permanently while midfielder Alex Hunt joined Oldham Athletic on loan.


Alex Wins: 3
Sheff Wed Wins: 6
Draws: 3

Biggest Alex Win: 2-0 at Gresty Road in April 2006
Biggest Sheff Wed Win: 3-0 at Hillsborough in January 2006

Last Meeting:

Crewe Alexandra 0-2 Sheffield Wednesday, 11th December 2021

Barry Bannan opened the scoring in the 27th minute before Chris Porter missed a penalty in first-half stoppage time. Lee Gregory would double the lead 2 minutes after the break.

Alex: Richards; Offord, Sass-Davies, Williams (Ramsay 78); Ainley, Lowery, Robertson (Johnson 61), Finney, Adebisi; Griffiths (Murphy 49), Porter

Sheff Wed: Peacock-Farrell; Brennan, Palmer, Johnson; Hunt, Wing, Dele-Bashiru (Windass 70), Bannan, Corbeanu (Shodipo 82); Paterson, Gregory (Berahino 82)

Played for Both:

The following players have been contracted to both teams:

Goalkeepers: Marlon Beresford, Bruce Grobbelaar, Stuart Jones, Neil Ramsbottom

Defenders: Madjid Bougherra, Marlon Broomes, Eddie Nolan, Jon Ostemobor, Colin Prophett, Julian Watts, Ashley M Westwood

Midfielders: Wayne Collins, Len Edwards, Paul Green, Kenny Lunt, Ben Marshall

Forwards: Harry Anstiss, Graham Barrett, Archie Brash, Harry Deacon, Horace Henshall, Ryan Lowe, Allan Mansley, Vadaine Oliver, Luke Varney, Jack Waring, Brian Woodall


The officials for this game have been announced here with Charles Breakspear the referee, Johnathon Bickerdike and Christopher Kidd are his assistants with Richard Wigglesworth the fourth official. The following Crewe games have been refereed by Breakspear in the last 5 years:

  • Crewe Alexandra 1-0 Morecambe (21st April 2018) – Miller
  • Cambridge United 0-0 Crewe Alexandra (12th March 2019)
  • Forest Green Rovers 0-0 Crewe Alexandra (26th November 2019)
  • Plymouth Argyle 1-1 Crewe Alexandra (16th January 2021) – Finney

Share this article

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.