Match Zone

Match Preview – Notts County (H)

Image for Match Preview – Notts County (H)

Tomorrow afternoon, Crewe Alexandra host Notts County at the Alexandra Stadium.

This Season:

This season sees the Rams sitting in 2nd place in the league having beaten Grimsby Town, Doncaster Rovers, Tranmere Rovers, Accrington Stanley, Salford City, Forest Green Rovers, Swindon Town, Gillingham and Newport County, they have drawn with Morecambe, MK Dons and Barrow while they have lost against Sutton United, Colchester United, Mansfield Town and Wrexham.

They have beaten Crawley in the FA Cup while losing to Lincoln City at the same stage of the Carabao Cup. They lost all 3 games in their EFL Trophy group games against Wolverhampton Wanderers’ Under-21s, Derby County and Lincoln City.


This summer has seen them make 6 permanent and 2 loan signings while 4 players have left the club permanently with Tiernan Brooks, Lucien Mahovo and Luther Munakandafa leaving on loan deals.

Joining the ranks at Meadow Lane are goalkeeper Aidan Stone, midfielders Daniel Crowley and Dan Gosling and forwards Jodi Jones, David McGoldrick and Will Randall are the permanent signings while defenders Ollie Tipton and Lewis Macari have joined the club on loan.

Leaving the club permanently were Ruben Rodrigues, Ed Francis, Kairo Mitchell and Frank Vincent.


Alex Wins: 15
Notts Wins: 23
Draws: 9

Biggest Alex Win: 5-1 at Gresty Road in October 1895
Biggest Notts Win: 6-0 at Meadow Lane in April 1986

Last Meeting

Crewe Alexandra 3-0 Notts County, 13th April 2019

Aaron Taylor-Sinclair opened the scoring in the 31st minute with Ryan Wintle (77) and James Jones (83) adding goals late on.

Crewe: Garratt; Ng, Hunt, Nolan, Taylor-Sinclair (Jones 81); Lowery, Wintle, Green; Ainley (Dale 75), Porter (Reilly 79), Kirk

Booked – n/a

Notts: Palmer; Tootle, Milsom, Duffy (Barclay 68), Stubbs, Doyle, Rose, O’Brien; Stead (Alessandra 71), Boldewijn (Mackail-Smith 46), Hemmings

Booked – Hemmings 43, O’Brien 85

Played for Both:

The following players have been contracted to both teams:

Goalkeepers: Jason Kearton, Brian Parkin, Tom Poskett

Defenders: Thierry Audel, Zoumana Bakayago, Julien Baudet, Paul Boertien, Mark Ellis, Dean Howell, Nicky Hunt, Alan Sheehan, James Stothert, Sam Stubbs, George Swift, Matt Tootle

Midfielders: Jim Gannon, Regan Griffiths, Stefan Oakes, Michael O’Connor, Geoff Thomas, David Vaughan, Thomas Wainwright

Forwards: Dele Adebola, Febian Brandy, Frank Broome, David Brown, Colin Cramb, Len Featherby, Marcus Haber, Terry Harkin, Danny Haynes, Horace Henshall, Harry Lowatt, Jim Mackey, Allan Mansley, Lee Matthews, Vadaine Oliver, Luke Rodgers, Callum Saunders, Jim Sullivan, Barry Tait, Andy White


The EFL have announced that Simon Mather is tomorrow’s referee with Darren Wilding and Danny Gratton assisting him and Richard Wigglesworth the fourth official. Mather has refereed the following Crewe games in the last 5 years:

  • Shrewsbury Town 0-1 Crewe Alexandra (31st August 2021) – Knight
  • Crewe Alexandra 1-1 Doncaster Rovers (2nd November 2021) – Porter
  • Crewe Alexandra 1-1 Ipswich Town (23rd April 2022) – Lowery
  • Tranmere Rovers 3-0 Crewe Alexandra (14th October 2022)

Share this article

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *