Match Zone

Match Preview – Harrogate Town (A)

Image for Match Preview – Harrogate Town (A)

Tomorrow afternoon, Crewe Alexandra travel to Wetherby Road to face Harrogate Town with the hosts’ squad containing former Alex defenders Rod McDonald and Kayne Ramsay.

This Season:

This season sees the Sulphurites sitting in 17th place in the league having beaten Doncaster Rovers, Morecambe, Salford City, MK Dons, Newport County and Colchester United,  they have drawn with Bradford City while they have lost against Forest Green Rovers, Tranmere Rovers, Accrington Stanley, Barrow, Gillingham, AFC Wimbledon, Stockport County and Colchester United.

They lost to Blackburn Rovers in the Carabao Cup Round 2 (after beating Carlisle United in Round 1) while they have beat Nottingham Forest’s Under-21s and lost to Accrington in the EFL Trophy in a group that also contains Carlisle.


This summer has seen them make 9 permanent and 1 loan signing while 5 players have left the club permanently with Peter Jameson and Joe Mattock leaving on loan deals.

Joining the ranks at Wetherby Road are goalkeeper Lewis Thomas, defenders Matty Foulds, Liam Gibson and McDonald, midfielders Dean Cornelius and Matty Daly with forwards James Daly, Abraham Odoh and Josh March completing the signings. Midfielder Jeremy Sivi has joined the club on loan.

Leaving the club permanently were Kyle Ferguson, Dior Angus, Rory McArdlem Alex Pattison and Max Wright.


Alex Wins: 1
Harrogate Wins: 0
Draws: 1

Biggest Alex Win: 3-0 at the Alexandra Stadium in August 2022
Biggest Harrogate Win: n/a

Last Meeting

Harrogate Town 2-2 Crewe Alexandra, 18th February 2023

Goals from Jack Muldoon in the 34th minute and Kazeem Olaigbe 7 minutes after the break saw the hosts race into a two-goal lead before a Dan Agyei penalty and substitute Tariq Uwakwe’s equaliser (83 and 89 respectively) saw the Alex leave Yorkshire with a point.

Crewe: Richards; O’Riordan (Robertson 59), Offord, McDonald; Tabiner, Ainley (Uwakwe), Finnigan (), Thomas (Brook 63), Adebisi; Agyei, Nevitt

Booked – Adebisi 61, Finnigan 73

Town: Oxley; Sims (Burrell 74), O’Connor, Eastman, Foulds; Pattison (Grant 88), Sutton (Thomson 64), Falkingham, Olaigbe; Muldoon (Folarin 88), Armstrong

Booked – n/a

Played for Both:

The following players have been contracted to both teams:

Goalkeepers: Joe Anyon

Defenders: Rod McDonald, Kayne Ramsay

Midfielders: n/a

Forwards: Brendon Daniels, Clayton Donaldson


The EFL have announced that Declan Bourne is tomorrow’s referee with Wayne Grunnill and Oliver Bickle assisting him and Christopher Ward the fourth official. Bourne has refereed the following Crewe games in the last 5 years:

  • Crewe Alexandra 3-4 Shrewsbury Town (10th November 2020, EFL Trophy) – Powell (2), Zanzala
  • Wigan Athletic 2-0 Crewe Alexandra (17th April 2021)
  • Crewe Alexandra 2-0 Lincoln City (7th December 2021) – Mandron (2)
  • Doncaster Rovers 2-0 Crewe Alexandra (9th April 2022)
  • Crewe Alexandra 3-0 Harrogate Town (6th August 2022) – Agyei, Mellor, Baker-Richardson

Share this article

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *