Date: 2nd November 2017 at 3:29am
Written by:

2 goals in 3 minutes from Luke Walsh and substitute Malachi Linton send Crewe Alexandra through to the second round of the FA Youth Cup after a trip to Handsworth Parramore last night.

Lee Bell named Will Appleyard in goal with Travis Johnson, Adao Manuel, Billy Sass-Davies and Luke Barlow from right-to-left across the back 4, a midfield 3 of Luke Offord (who played 90 minutes for the Under-23s on Monday afternoon), captain Joe Lynch and Connor Heath and a front 3 of Alex Hurst and Walsh either side of Joe Thompson. On the bench, goalkeeper Sam Booth, defender Rio Adebisi and midfielders Linton, Matty Fenton and Aaron Lomas.

The opening chance of the game came in the 6th minute as Hurst cut in from the left-wing before drilling his shot wide from outside the area before bookings for Handsworth defenders Oliver Sullivan and Jack Hollis-Smith inside the opening quarter-hour. Handsworth`s opening chance came on 20 minutes as Aaron Mushet shot wide under pressure from Sass-Davies before Hurst produced some more magic 10 minutes before the break as he cut inside from the wing and shot just wide of the post.

After an early double-change from Bell in the second half with first year scholars Rio Adebisi and Linton coming on for Barlow and Heath, Walsh opened the scoring in the 55th minute with a 25-yard shot before Linton added a second 2 minutes later as he got on the end of Hurst`s cross.

Into the final 20 minutes where goalkeeper Callum Turner began to steal the show, first keeping out a Linton header from another Hurst cross before denying Thompson with another header. More saves came from the Parramore #1 denying Walsh then Hurst with one double-save before making another double-save denying Walsh then Thompson.

Crewe will travel to Shrewsbury Town in the second round – more information on the site once it is released.

Crewe: Appleyard; Johnson, Manuel, Sass-Davies, Barlow (Adebisi 53); Offord, Lynch © (Lomas 80), Heath (Linton 53); Hurst, Thompson, Walsh

Handsworth: Turner; Hollis-Smith, Cutts, Sullivan, McGovern ©; Pocock, Sellers, Charlesworth, Bradley; Mushet, Dodsworth