Date: 11th February 2018 at 5:00am
Written by:

Both defences came out on top as Crewe Alexandra stopped their run of defeats with a goalless draw against Yeovil Town at the Alexandra Stadium yesterday, the first draw since mid-August for the hosts.

Manager David Artell made 3 changes from last Saturday`s defeat at Notts County. Perry Ng and Zoumana Bakayago came into the back 4 following their suspensions for Michael Raynes and Brad Walker (Harry Pickering moving into central midfield as a result) whilst Charlie Kirk came into the midfield for Tom Lowery. All 3 that were left out of the starting 11 were on the bench alongside Dave Richards, Lewis Reilly, Harry McKirdy and Daniel Barlaser.

The first effort came in the 3rd minute as Pickering tested Artur Krysiak from just outside the area which the Polish keeper turned behind for a corner before former Alex loanee Ryan Seager fired over on the break from that corner. The next chance came on 27 minutes with Kirk playing in Callum Ainley with the latter unable to test Krysiak before Kirk found Bakayago who had his effort saved. With 10 minutes to go in the opening period, Crewe were denied a penalty after captain Paul Green`s cross was handled by Omar Sowunmi but referee Rob Lewis turned down the protests.

After a substitution at the break for the visitors, it was once again the defences that were on top with both attacks showing why they were in the bottom half. Pickering hit the bar with an early free-kick with Tom James heading the ball almost from underneath his own bar before James, down the other end, had his cross headed over by Sowunmi.

On the hour-mark, Yeovil had a rare attack as captain Francois Zoko got in down the left with his cross evading the runners in the area before substitute Harry McKirdy almost making an immediate impact after coming on as he beat a couple of defenders, feeding Ainley whose shot was saved by Jonny Maddison, himself on as a substitute.

Crewe`s next game is on Tuesday night away at Accrington Stanley before hosting Colchester United next Saturday.

Crewe: Garratt; Sterry, Ng, Nolan, Bakayago; Ainley, Green ©, Pickering, Kirk (McKirdy 64); Bowery, Miller

Yeovil: Krysiak (Maddison 51); Whelan, Sowunmi, N. Smith (Dickson 46), James; Browne, Wing, Gray, Green; Seager (Surridge 68), Zoko ©