Date: 14th February 2018 at 5:14am
Written by:

Kayden Jackson`s 12th goal of the season 3 minutes before the break was enough for Accrington Stanley to record their 8th win in 9 games against a Crewe Alexandra side who slip down to 22nd in the table at the Wham Stadium last night.

Manager Dave Artell made one change from Saturday`s 0-0 home draw against Yeovil Town with Eddie Nolan missing out due to illness, with Michael Raynes taking his place in the starting 11 whilst George Ray took Raynes` place on the bench. Former Alex youngster Liam Nolan was in the Accrington midfield.

The first chance of the game came in the 8th minute as Jackson got in behind the defence, shooting wide before a minute later Shaun Miller had the ball in the net but he was in an offside position following Paul Green`s through-ball. A cross from Harry Pickering was turned away by a defender for a corner in an opening period that saw both teams evenly matched.

The next opportunity came 9 minutes before the break with Jordan Bowery hitting it straight at keeper Aaron Chapman whilst Bowery fed Green in the inside-right channel who hit a deflected shot into the side-netting. Despite the touch, referee David Webb gave a goal-kick with the hosts taking the lead a minute later with Jordan Clark finding Jackson who finished past Garratt into the bottom corner.

Into the second half and it was more Alex pressure as Charlie Kirk forced Chapman into another save before the Alex wide-man`s first-time effort from a Jamie Sterry right-wing cross was deflected wide via Stanley captain Mark Hughes. More chances fell to the visitors as Bowery had the next chance that was saved by Chapman before the forward had another chance as Kirk`s effort hit him and fell nicely into his path but he pulled it wide of the goal and the equalising goal just wouldn`t come.

Crewe`s next game is on Saturday as we host Colchester United.

Crewe: Garratt; Sterry, Ng, Raynes, Bakayago; Ainley (McKirdy 66), Green ©, Pickering, Kirk; Bowery, Miller (Barlaser 79)

Accrington: Chapman; Rodgers (Sousa 68), Hughes ©, Dunne, Donacien; Clark, Nolan, Brown, Johnson; Kee, Jackson