Match Zone

Match Preview – Derby County (H, FA Cup)

Image for Match Preview – Derby County (H, FA Cup)

Tomorrow afternoon, Crewe Alexandra host Derby County in Round 1 of the FA Cup.

NB: This game kicks off at 2:45 pm and can be viewed on ITVX.

This Season:

This season sees the Rams sitting in 7th place in League 1 having beaten Burton Albion, Fleetwood Town, Peterborough United, Carlisle United, Blackpool, Exeter City and Northampton Town, they have drawn with Portsmouth, Cambridge United and Cheltenham Town while they have lost against Wigan Athletic, Oxford United, Bolton Wanderers, Shrewsbury Town and Stevenage.

They lost to Blackpool in the Carabao Cup Round 1 while they have beat Lincoln City and Notts County in the EFL Trophy in a group that also contains Wolverhampton Wanderers’ Under-21s.


This summer has seen them make 17 permanent and 3 loan signings while 17 players have left the club permanently with Kwaku Oduroh, Harry Evans, Owen Oseni and former Alex youngster George Nunn leaving on loan deals.

Joining the ranks at Pride Park are goalkeepers Josh Vickers and Lewis Ridd, defenders Callum Elder, Curtis Nelson, Ryan Bartley, Sonny Bradley, Kane Wilson, Alex Gibson-Hammond and Ryan Nyambe, midfielders Joe Ward, Ben Radcliffe, Bradley Johnson, Charlie Lindsay and Tyrese Fornah with forwards Conor Washington, Tony Weston and Martyn Waghorn completing the signings. Defender Henry Jeffcott, midfielder Elliot Embleton and forward Tyreece John-Jules have joined the club on loan.

Leaving the club permanently were Krystian Bielik, Osazee Aghatise, Rhys Brailsford, Demico Burton, James Chester, Bartosz Cybulski, Curtis Davies, Connor Dixon, Harrison Foulkes, Will Grewal-Pollard, Olamide Ibrahim, Cian Kelly, Sonny Blu Lo-Everton, David McGoldrick, Alfie Roberts, Harrison Soloman, Richard Stearman and Jason Knight.


Alex Wins: 5 (1 in FA Cup)
Derby Wins: 6 (2 in FA Cup)
Draws: 3

Biggest Alex Win: 3-0 at the Alexandra Stadium in October 2003
Biggest Derby Win: 5-1 at Pride Park in November 1985 (FA Cup)

Last Meeting

Crewe Alexandra 1-0 Derby County, 10th August 2010 (League Cup)

A Shaun Barker own goal in the final minute of the first half saw Crewe Alexandra into the second round of the League Cup of that season.

Crewe: Taylor; Tootle, Ada, Artell, Blanchett; Murphy, Bell, Westwood; Donaldson, Zola, Miller (Moore 80)

Booked – Tootle 74

Derby: Bywater, Barker (Roberts 69), Brayford, Bailey, Leacock, Moxey, Commons, Cywka, Pringle (Doyle 82), Savage, Porter (Hulse 46)

Booked – Moxey 62

Played for Both:

The following players have been contracted to both teams:

Goalkeepers: Ross Etheridge, Adam Legzdins, Martin Taylor

Defenders: Paul Boertien, John Brayford, Nicky Hunt, Martin McDonnell, Dave Walton

Midfielders: James Bailey, Paul Bancroft, George Evans, Paul Green, Brian Launders, Jake Livermore, Seth Johnson, George Nunn, Robbie Savage

Forwards: Frank Broome, Nathan Ellington, Bill Gardner, Ivan Hollett, Rob Hulse, Chris Porter, Tommy Todd, Ashley Ward, Harry Wilson, Offrande Zanzala


The FA have announced that Scott Oldham is tomorrow’s referee with Richard Woodward and Karl Buckley assisting him and Darren Drysdale the fourth official. Oldham has refereed the following Crewe games in the last 5 years:

  • Crewe Alexandra 1-0 Cheltenham Town (18th January 2020) – Ng
  • Crewe Alexandra 1-2 Lincoln City (5th September 2020, Carabao Cup) – Sass-Davies
  • Crewe Alexandra 2-1 Plymouth Argyle (15th December 2020) – Kirk, Dale
  • Crewe Alexandra 0-1 Oxford United (22nd February 2022)
  • Bolton Wanderers 4-1 Crewe Alexandra (30th August 2022, EFL Trophy) – Baker-Richardson
  • Sunderland 1-1 Crewe Alexandra (8th August 2023, Carabao Cup) – Offord

Share this article

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *