Date: 29th September 2017 at 4:52pm
Written by:

There have been four competitive fixtures on September 29th in the 25-year period, taking place in 2001, 2007, 2009 and 2012.

The game in 2001 saw Crewe Alexandra host Birmingham City at the Alexandra Stadium in a goal-less affair.

Crewe: Bankole; Wright (Foster 46), Sodje, Walton, Smith; Lunt, Brammer (Collins 77), Sorvel, Charnock; Jack (Barrett 85), Hulse

Birmingham: Vaesen; Eaden, Holdsworth, M. Johnson, Grainger; Hughes, Sonner (Luntala 79), Woodhouse; Horsfield (Marcelo 58), A. Johnson, Mooney (Lazaradis 58)

In 2007, Crewe travelled to Boundary Park to face Oldham Athletic. Lee Barnard and Byron Moore gave the visitors a 2-goal lead by the half-hour mark before goals from Mark Allott, Matty Wolfenden and Neil Kilkenny, the latter two off the substitute`s bench, gave the hosts the win.

Crewe: Williams; Woodards, O`Donnell, McCready, Jones (Pope 90); Moore, Roberts, Schumacher, Rix; Barnard, Lowe (O`Connor 87)

Oldham: Crossley; Eardley, Hazell, Gregan, Bertrand; Taylor, Kalala, Allott (Kilkenny 68); Davies, Liddell, Ricketts (Wolfenden 77)

The next game saw Bury travel to South Cheshire a couple of years later. Tom Elliott opened the scoring for Bury in the 22nd minute with Harry Worley levelling the scoring in the 39th minute for the Alex. Ryan Lowe gave the visitors the lead again a couple of minutes later before Calvin Zola equalised in 17 minutes left on the clock. Billy Jones was sent off in the 85th minute with Stephen Dawson scoring the resulting penalty whilst Patrick Ada was also sent off for the hosts in the 90th minute.

Crewe: Bogdan; Brayford, Ada, Worley, Jones; Murphy, Mitchel-King, Westwood, Grant (Leitch-Smith 80); Zola, Miller (Moore 68)

Bury: Brown; Buchanan, Cresswell, Sodje, Newey; Jones, Dawson, Baker (Worrall 65), Barry-Murphy; Elliott, Lowe (Racchi 71)

The final game saw the Alex travel to Milton Keynes Dons in 2012 with Charlie MacDonald scoring the only goal after 8 minutes.

Crewe: Martin; Mellor, Davis, Ellis, Robertson; Tootle (Turton 80), Bond, Murphy, Moore; Clayton (Colclough 68), Leitch-Smith (Pogba 62)

MK Dons: Martin; Williams, Kay, Chicksen, Lewington; O`Shea (Powell 61), Gleeson, Potter, Chadwick (Allan 71); Bowditch, MacDonald (Lowe 83)