Date: 23rd September 2017 at 10:59pm
Written by:

There have been four competitive fixtures on September 23rd in the 25-year period, taking place in 2000, 2003, 2006 and 2008.

The game in 2000 saw Crewe Alexandra host Barnsley at the Alexandra Stadium. Rob Hulse and Rodney Jack gave the hosts a 2-goal lead before a Darren Barnard penalty and Bruce Dyer gave the Tykes a share of the points.

Crewe: Kearton; Wright, Macauley (Walton 32), Sodje (Foster 72), Smith; Lumsdon, Lunt, Sorvel; Jack, Hulse, Little

Barnsley: Miller; Regan (Shipperley 64), Appleby, Chettle (O`Callaghan 46), Morgan, Barnard; Corbo, van der Laan, Ward; Dyer, Sheron (Jones 85)

The next game saw Crewe travelled to Leicester City in 2003 in the EFL Cup with Paul Dickov scoring a penalty 8 minutes from time.

Crewe: Ince; Wright, Walker, Foster, Vaughan; Lunt, Brammer, Cochrane (Varney 89), Rix (Tonkin 59); Ashton, Edwards

Leicester: Walker; Curtis, Howey, Sinclair, Scimeca; Impey, Nalis, Brooker (Priet 89), Scowcroft (Izzet 46); Deane (Stewart 38), Dickov

In 2006 we travelled to Yeovil Town`s Huish Park. A Ben Williams own goal gave Yeovil the lead just before half-time with Paul Terry adding a second 20 minutes from time.

Crewe: Williams; Otsemobor, Baudet, Cox, Jones; Jack (Higdon 46), O`Connor (Rix 90), Roberts, Vaughan; Maynard, Varney

Yeovil: Mildenhall; Lynch, Forbes, Skiverton, Cohen; Jones, Kalala, Terry; Davies, Morris (Gray 68), Stewart (Welsh-Elliott 87)

The final game saw the Alex travel to Anfield to face Liverpool in the EFL Cup in 2008. Daniel Agger gave the hosts the lead in the 15th minute before Michael O`Connor levelled the score 10 minutes later. Lucas Leiva scored the winner just before the hour-mark.

Crewe: Collis; Woodards, Baudet, O`Donnell, Jones; Moore, O`Connor, Bailey, Carrington (Grant 81); Pope (Elding 87), Zola (Miller 78)

Liverpool: Cavalieri; Degen (Carragher 73), Hyypia, Agger, Insua; Pennant, Leiva, Plessis, El Zhar (Keane 87); Babel, N`gog (Torres 66)