Date: 20th September 2017 at 7:01pm
Written by:

There have been three competitive fixtures on September 20th in the 25-year period, taking place in 2003, 2008 and 2014.

The game in 2003 saw Crewe Alexandra host Nottingham Forest at the Alexandra Stadium. Marlon Harewood gave the visitors a 54th minute lead before goals from Kenny Lunt, Dean Ashton and Steve Jones gave the Alex the win.

Crewe: Ince; Wright, Foster, Walker, Vaughan; Lunt, Brammer, Cochrane, Rix; Ashton, S. Jones

Forest: Ward; Louis-Jean, Morgan, Dawson, Thompson; Sonner, Williams, McPhail, Reid; Harewood, Taylor.

The game in 2008 saw us host Southend. Dougie Freedman and a Julien Baudet own goal gave United a 2-0 lead before Michael O`Connor and Tom Pope scored to level the scores at the break. Calvin Zola gave the Railwaymen the lead mid-way through the second period before Freedman and future Alex midfielder Anthony Grant won it for Shrimpers late on.

Crewe: Collis; Woodards, O`Donnell, Baudet, Jones; Moore (Carrington 89), Bailey, O`Connor, Grant (Miller 62); Pope, Zola (Donaldson 82)

Southend: Joyce; Francis, Clarke, Barrett, Harding; Betsy, Sawyer (Grant 80), Walker (Robson-Kanu 72), Christophe; Freedman, Barnard (Revell 71)

The final game saw the Alex travel to MK Dons in 2014. Dele Alli opened the scoring in the 3rd minute before a Kyle McFadlean own goal briefly levelled the scores. Will Grigg gave the Dons the lead whilst second-half goals from Alli (twice), Benik Afobe and Ben Reeves resulted in a hammering for us on the road.

Crewe: Garratt; Turton, Davis, Guthrie, Bakayago; Kiwomya (Bingham 90), Jones, Hollands, Cooper (Kirk 81); Lowe, Dagnall

CMK Dons: Martin; Baldock (Spence 76), McFadzean, Kay, Lewington; Powell, Alli, Potter, Reeves; Bowditch (Hitchcock 82), Grigg (Afobe 59)