Date: 17th September 2017 at 3:15am
Written by:

There have been four competitive fixtures on September 17th in the 25-year period, taking place in 2002, 2005, 2011 and 2016.

The game in 2002 saw Crewe Alexandra travel to Wycombe Wanderers` Adams Park. Sean Devine gave the hosts the lead in the 3rd minute before 2 goals from Rob Hulse gave the visitors all 3 points, those goals occurring in the 26th and 31st minutes.

Crewe: Ince; Foster, Walker, Sodje, Wright; Lunt, Brammer, Sorvel, Rix (Ashton 90); Jack, Hulse

Wycombe: Talia; Vinnicombe, McCarthy, Rogers, Thomson; Brown (Dixon 83), Bulman, Currie (Harris 84), Simpson; Devine (Roberts 69), Faulconbridge

The next game saw Crewe travel to the Madjeski Stadium to face Reading with Ivar Ingimarsson scoring the only goal of the game 9 minutes from time.

Crewe: Turnbull; Moss, Foster, McCready, Tonkin; Lunt, Roberts, B. Jones, Vaughan (Rivers 80); S. Jones (Ugarte 84), Higdon (Suhaj 84)

Reading: Hahnemann; Makin, Gunnarson, Sonko, Murty; Convey (Hunt 83), Ingimarsson, Harper, Little (Oster 79); Doyle, Lita (Chukwunyelu 78)

The game in 2011 saw a trip to Accrington Stanley`s Crown Ground. Early goals from AJ Leitch-Smith and Byron Moore gave the Alex the 3 points.

Crewe: Phillips; Tootle, Davis, Dugdale, Martin; Westwood, Bell, Murphy; Moore (Mellor 89), Leitch-Smith (Sarcevic 78), Miller (Shelley 73)

Accrington: Murdoch; Long, Winnard, Hessey, Murphy (Moult 66); Lindfield (Craney 55), Joyce, McIntyre, Proctor, Amond (Guthrie 74), Fletcher

The final game saw the Alex travel to Grimsby Town last year. George Cooper`s goal on the stroke of half-time gave Crewe the lead before James Jones` 85th minute strike gave the visitors the win by a bigger margin.

Crewe: Garratt; Turton, Davis, Guthrie, Bakayago; Kiwomya (Bingham 90), Jones, Hollands, Cooper (Kirk 81); Lowe, Dagnall

Grimsby: McKeown; Andrew, Pearson, Gowling; Comley, Davis, Summerfield, Vose (Bolarinwa 76); Chambers, Bogle, Tuton (Jackson 65)