Date: 16th September 2017 at 3:46am
Written by:

There have been five competitive fixtures on September 16th in the 25-year period, taking place in 2000, 2003, 2006, 2007 and 2014.

The game in 2000 saw Crewe Alexandra travel to Vicerage Road to face Watford. Goals from Tommy Smith in the 22nd minute and second half goals from Gifton Noel-Williams and Micah Hyde gave the Hornets the win.

Crewe: Kearton; Foster (Walton 76), Macauley, Sodje, S. Smith (Howell 76); Wright, Lumsdon, Lunt, Sorvel, Street; P. Smith

Watford: Baardsen (Chamberlain 59); Cox, Page, Palmer, Ward, Robinson; Hyde, Nielsen, Smith, Mooney, Noel-Williams

The next game saw Crewe host West Ham United in 2003. 2 goals from David Connolly and one from Matt Etherington inside 10 first-half minutes gave the Hammers a dominant win.

Crewe: Ince; Wright, Walker, Foster, Tonkin; Lunt, Cochrane (Sorvel 77), Brammer, Rix; S. Jones (Edwards 73), Ashton

West Ham: James; Dailly, Pearce, Repka, Quinn (Kilgallon 27); Alexandersson (Noble 86), Horlock, Lee, Etherington (Ferdinand 80); Connolly, Defoe

In 2006, we hosted Millwall at the Alexandra Stadium with Luke Varney scoring the only goal of the game in the 65th minute.

Crewe: Williams; Otsemobor, Baudet, O`Donnell, Jones; Roberts, Cox, O`Connor (Lowe 60), Vaughan; Maynard (Jack 60), Varney

Millwall: Day; Ross, Shaw, Robinson, Whitbread; Dunne, Fuseini, Elliott (Bakayago 85); Hubertz, Williams, Zebroski (Braniff 86)

A year later and there was a trip to the Keepmoat Stadium to face Doncaster Rovers. A 31st minute Paul Heffernan goal and a Danny Woodards own goal 3 minutes after the break gave the hosts the win.

Crewe: Williams; Woodards, Baudet (Abbey 73), McCready, Jones; Roberts, Cox (Rix 46), Schumacher, Bopp (Moore 46); Barnard, Lowe

Doncaster: Sullivan; O`Connor, Mills, Lockwood, Roberts; Wilson, Wellens (Green 75), Stock, Hayter; Guy (McDaid 76), Heffernan (Price 85)

The final game saw the Alex travel to Yeovil Town in 2014. Billy Waters gave the Railwaymen the lead just after the hour before Kieffer Moore equalised with 18 minutes left to play

Crewe: Garratt; Tootle, Audel, Ray, Guthrie; Nolan, Turton, Grant; Waters, Haber, Oliver (Atkinson 83)

Yeovil: Kean; Martin, Sokolik (Ofori-Twumasi 66), Nugent, Smith; Foley (Moore 65), Edwards, Dawson (Ralph 66), Price, Grant; Leitch-Smith