Date: 12th September 2017 at 3:55am
Written by:

There have been four competitive fixtures on September 12th in the 25-year period, taking place in 2000, 2006, 2009 and 2015.

The game in 2000 saw Crewe Alexandra host West Bromwich Albion at the Alexandra Stadium with Lee Hughes scoring the only goal of the game after 14 minutes.

Crewe: Kearton; Wright, Sodje (Walton 90), Macauley, Smith (Foster 75); Lunt, Sorvel, Street; Little (Lumsdon 79), Hulse, Jack

West Brom: Jensen; Lyttle, Butler, van Blerk, Clement; J. Chambers, McInnes, Sneekes, Jordao; Hughes, Taylor (Roberts 64)

In 2006, we hosted Cheltenham Town. Nicky Maynard opened the scoring for the Alex mid-way through the first half before Brian Wilson equalised 7 minutes before the break. Captain Neil Cox gave the hosts the lead again with 20 minutes remaining whilst Luke Varney gave the home fans some comfort with his goal in the 81st minute.

Crewe: Williams; Otsemobor, Baudet, O`Donnell, Jones; Roberts, O`Connor, Cox, Vaughan (Jack 60); Maynard (Matthews 87), Varney

Cheltenham: Higgs; Gill, Caines, Lowe, Wilson; Armstrong (Yao 79), Finnigan, McCann, Melligan (Victory 23); Guinan, Odejayi (Elvins 72)

Onto 2009 and a trip to Prostar Stadium to face Shrewsbury Town. Goals in either half by Dave Hibbert and Joss Labadie gave the Shrews the win.

Crewe: Button; Brayford, Worley, Ada, Jones; Verma (Miller 71), Walton, Schumacher (Elding 77); Moore, Zola, Grant

Shrewsbury: Phillips; Holden, Langmead, Coughlan, Cansdell-Sherriff; Simpson (Gray 66), Labadie, McIntyre, Murray (Leslie 79); Robinson (Elder 79), Hibbert

The final game saw the Alex host Millwall in 2015. Aidan O`Brien was the star of the show as he bagged a hat-trick for the visitors, scoring in the 21st, 64th and 74th minutes with Lauri Dalla Valle equalising for the Railwaymen in the 36th minute.

Crewe: Garratt; Turton, Davis, Nugent, Kingsley; Atkinson, Fox (Wilson 67), King; Colclough, Dalla Valle (Cooper 80), Inman

Millwall: Archer; Edwards, Beevers, Craig, Nelson (Webster 51), Williams; Abdou, Onyedinma (Ferguson 69), Upson; Morison, O`Brien (Gregory 84)