Date: 5th March 2018 at 5:50am
Written by:

There have been four games played on March 5th this century.

The first of which occurred in 2002 with a home game against Barnsley at the Alexandra Stadium. Dean Ashton opened the scoring in the 43rd minute with substitute Kevin Street adding a second in second-half stoppage-time. Chris Morgan was sent off for the Tykes in the 51st minute with Lee Crooks also seeing red late on.

Crewe: Ince; Wright, Sodje, Walton, Smith; Collins (Little 17), Lunt, Sorvel, Rix (Street 89); Ashton, Hulse

Barnsley: Marriott, Mulligan, Morgan, Naylor, Crooks, Barker, Jones (Gorre 88), Lumsdon, Ward (O`Callaghan 74), Betsy, Sheron (Dyer 77)

The next game happened 3 years later with a home game against Wolverhampton Wanderers. Kenny Lunt gave the Alex the lead with an 11th-minute penalty before 2 goals each for Carl Cort and Kenny Miller gave Wolves the win.

Crewe: Williams; Moss (Murdock 88), Moses, McCready, Tonkin; S. Jones, Lunt, Sorvel, Vaughan; Rivers (Platt 76), White (Higdon 46)

Wolves: Oakes, Craddock, Lescott, Naylor, Andrews, Ince, Olofinjana, Kennedy, Cort, Seol (Clarke 84), Miller (Cooper 73)

2011 saw a home game against Burton Albion. Clayton Donaldson (2) and Shaun Miller (7) gave Crewe an early 2-goal lead before Donaldson added a penalty in the 27th minute. Substitute Sam Winnall got one back for the visitors with 7 minutes to play before Donaldson completed his hat-trick in the 90th minute.

Crewe: Taylor; Ada, Artell, Dugdale, Blanchett; Murphy, Westwood, Bell; Moore (Shelley 90), Donaldson, Miller (Leitch-Smith 85)

Burton: Legzdins, James, Stanton, Austin, Boertien, Corbett (Whaley 35), Bolder (Walker 35), Maghoma, McGrath (Winnall 74), Penn, Pearson

The final game was 2 years ago, another home game against Burton. Marcus Haber gave the Alex the lead on 14 minutes before Lucas Akins levelled 11 minutes before the break.

Crewe: Garratt; Ng, Nugent, Guthrie (Davis 59), Bakayago; Cooper, Turton, Jones, Inman; Haber, Hitchcock (Kirk 59)

Burton: McLaughlin, Cansdell-Sherriff, Butcher (Choudhury 90), Edwards, McCrory, Mousinho, Duffy, Reilly (Beavon 67), Weir, Akins, Bennett (Naylor 75)