Date: 26th February 2018 at 5:17am
Written by:

There have been five games that have occurred on February 26th this century.

In 2002, we hosted Everton at the Alexandra Stadium. Dean Ashton gave the hosts the lead after 24 minutes before Tomasz Radzinski equalised on the stroke of half-time. Kevin Campbell scored the winning goal with 20 minutes to go.

Crewe: Ince; Wright, Walton, Sodje, Smith; Collins (Rix 79), Lunt, Brammer (Sorvel 65), Vaughan (Jack 74); Ashton, Hulse

Everton: Simonsen, Clarke, Weir, Stubbs, Naysmith (Unsworth 46), Alexandersson, Gemmill, Ginola (Gravesen 46), Pembridge, Campbell (Linderoth 80), Radzinski

3 years later and a trip to Home Park to face Plymouth Argyle was on the cards. Paul Wotton opened the scoring for the hosts in the 25th minute with second-half goals from substitutes Dexter Blackstock and Scott Taylor completing the win for Argyle. Steve Foster was shown a red card in the 45th minute for the Alex on an afternoon to forget.

Crewe: Ince; McCready, Foster, Murdock (Moses 84), Tonkin; Lunt, Sorvel, Bell, Vaughan; S. Jones, Varney

Plymouth: McCormick, Connolly, Adams, Coughlan, Aljofree, Wotton, Gilbert, Buzsaky (Gudjonsson 81), Norris, Chadwick (Taylor 72), Evans (Blackstock 60)

2008 saw the next game and a home game against Carlisle United with Scott Dobie scoring the only goal of the game in the 64th minute for the Cumbrians.

Crewe: Williams; Abbey, Baudet, O`Donnell, Boyle; Lunt, Gary S. Roberts, Schumacher (Lowe 84), Gary M. Roberts; Moore (Pope 72), Maynard

Carlisle: Westwood, Livesey, Raven, Murphy, Horwood, Bridge-Wilkinson, Hackney, G. Smith, Taylor (J. Smith 88), Garner (Dobie 46), Graham

3 years later saw a trip to Bury`s Gigg Lane. Shaun Miller gave the visitors the lead on the 41st minute before 2 Kyle Bennett goals and a Ryan Lowe effort gave the Shakers the win.

Crewe: Taylor; Tootle, Ada, Artell, Blanchett; Moore (Powell 61), Bell, Westwood, Leitch-Smith (Shelley 81); Miller, Donaldson (Sarcevic 81)

Bury: Belford, Lees, Sodje, Picken (Bennett 60), Skarz, Jones (Haworth 46), Mozika, Schumacher, Worrall, John-Lewis (Bishop 60), Lowe

The final game occurred 5 years ago at Victoria Park where we faced Hartlepool United. Charlie Wyke scored the opener in the 27th minute before Jonathan Franks extended the lead 5 minutes before the break. Andy Monkhouse scored the final goal of the game in second-half stoppage-time.

Crewe: Phillips; Mellor, Ellis, Dugdale, Robertson; Aneke (Clayton 72), Murphy, Osman; Moore, Leitch-Smith (Colclough 80), Inman (Pogba 50)

Hartlepool: Flinders, Austin, Hartley, Collins, Baldwin, Humphreys, Horwood, Walton (Monkhouse 28), Franks (James 90), Poole (Luscombe 82), Wyke