Date: 24th February 2018 at 5:36am
Written by:

There have been five games played on February 24th this century.

The first game occurred in 2001 at Barnsley`s Oakwell. Lee Jones gave the hosts the lead in the 34th minute before a Steve Foster own goal and Neil Shipperley goals in the second-half extended the lead.

Crewe: Bankole; Foster, Macauley, Walton, Smith; Wright, Lunt, Sorvel, Little; Ashton, Hulse (Charnock 79)

Barnsley: Miller, Regan, Chettle (O`Callaghan 15), Morgan, Barker, Bullock, Hayward, Ward, Jones (Barnard 63), Rankin (Dyer 83), Shipperley

3 years later, we hosted Sheffield United at the Alexandra Stadium with Nick Montgomery scoring the only goal of the game with 5 minutes left.

Crewe: Ince; Wright, Moses (B. Jones 46), Foster, Tonkin; S. Jones, Sorvel (Lunt 61), Cochrane (Rix 77), Vaughan; Hignett, Ashton

Sheff United: Kenny, Whitlow, Page, Jagielka, Kozluk, Montgomery, Robinson, Tonge, Forte (Shaw 86), Parkinson (Ndlovu 81), Ward

In 2007, we travelled to Huddersfield Town to the Galpharm Stadium. Chris Brandon gave the hosts the lead in the 22nd minute with Michael Higdon equalising on the stroke of half-time. Ryan Lowe scored the winner in the 69th minute.

Crewe: Williams; Woodards, O`Donnell, Cox, Moss; Lowe (Jack 90), Baudet, Roberts, Rix; Higdon, Varney

Huddersfield: Glennon, Mirfin, Taylor, Sinclair, Hardy, Brandon, Collins, Young, Beckett, Hayes, Taylor-Fletcher

In 2009, we hosted Yeovil Town. Clayton Donaldson gave the hosts the lead in the 45th minute before John Brayford scored a second 11 minutes from time.

Crewe: Ruddy; Woodards, Brayford, Broomes, Lawrence (Abbey 46), Jones; Baudet, O`Connor, Moore; Pope (Schumacher 85), Donaldson

Yeovil: Wagenaar, Alcock, Forbes, Smith, Brown (Downes 83), Peltier, Worthington, Schofield, Tomlin (Rodgers 83), Welsh, Warne (Roberts 65)

The last match occurred a year later with a home game with Chesterfield with Drew Talbot scoring the only goal after 27 minutes.

Crewe: Phillips; Brayford, O`Donnell, Worley, Tootle; Westwood, Walton, Bailey (Murphy 79); Moore, Miller (Donaldson 71), Grant

Chesterfield: Lee, Breckin, Page, Talbot, Goodall, Gray, Green, Whaley, Allott, Conlon (Boden 90), Rundle