Date: 31st January 2018 at 5:30pm
Written by:

Here is the return of the ‘On This Day` feature that we had for the early months of the season. There have been 3 games played on 1st February this century.

In 2003, we hosted Northampton Town. First-half goals from Steve Jones and David Vaughan gave the Railwaymen a 2-1 lead heading into the break as Marco Gabbiadini scored a 45th minute penalty with Richard Hope levelled the score in the 63rd minute. Jones restored the Alex lead with 20 minutes to go but Derek Asamoah levelled the scores again with 9 minutes to go.

Crewe: Bankole; Wright, McCready, Walker, Tierney (Jack 71); Lunt, Sorvel (Ashton 85), Brammer, Vaughan; S. Jones, Hulse

Northampton: Thompson, Gill, Carruthers, Reid, Hope, Harsley, Trollope, Rahim, Asamoah, Gabbiadini (Lincoln 79), McGregor

Northampton were also the opponents in 2011 as we travelled to Sixfields Stadium. AJ Leitch-Smith gave the visitors the lead in the 5th minute before goals from Shaun Harrad and Michael Jacobs had the Cobblers with 15 minutes gone. 3 goals in 5 minutes either side from Dean Beckwith, Andy Holt and Abdul Osman saw Northampton 5-1 up before Billy McKay, for Town, and Antoni Sarcevic finished off the scoring.

Crewe: Taylor; Tootle, Ada, Artell, Blanchett; Murphy, Westwood, Bell, Shelley (Powell 71); Leitch-Smith (Sarcevic 73), Miller (Grant 46)

Northampton: Dunn, Johnson (Rodgers 76), Beckwith, Holt (Wedderburn 63), Tozer, Walker, Hall, Jacobs, Osman, Harrad, McKenzie (McKay 63)

The final game saw Sheffield United travel to the Alexandra Stadium in 2014. 2 goals from Chuks Aneke in the first half and a Byron Moore strike in second-half stoppage-time gave the hosts the win.

Crewe: Garratt; Tootle, Ellis, Davis, Guthrie; Evans, Grant, Aneke; Pogba (Ikpeazu 87), Leitch-Smith (Moore 76), Inman

Sheff United: Long, Brayford, Hill, Maguire, Collins, Coady, Flynn (McGinn 62), Scougall, Baxter, Murphy (Harris 62), Paynter (Porter 68)