Date: 17th February 2018 at 9:15pm
Written by:

There have been five games played on February 17th this century, not including this afternoon’s victory over Colchester United.

In 2001, we hosted Watford at the Alexandra Stadium. Rodney Jack opened the scoring in the 15th minute with Dean Ashton adding a second 9 minutes later.

Crewe: Bankole; Wright, Macauley (Foster 26), Walton, Smith; Lunt, Sorvel, Street; Rivers (Little 77), Ashton (Hulse 84), Jack

Watford: Baardsen, Cox, Gibbs, Page, Palmer, Ward, Kennedy (Hyde 46), Nielsen, Smith, Helguson (Armstrong 71), Mooney

A year later we travelled to Goodison Park to play Everton in the FA Cup in a game that finished goal-less.

Crewe: Ince; Wright, Walton, Sodje, Smith; Lunt, Sorvel, Brammer, Vaughan (Rix 56); Ashton (Jack 67), Hulse (Foster 90)

Everton: Simonsen, Clarke, Weir, Stubbs, Naysmith, Alexandersson (Gascoigne 63), Blomqvist (Moore 71), Gemmill, Ginola, Linderoth (Pembridge 73), Campbell

In 2007, we travelled to Bradford City`s Valley Parade with Ryan Lowe scoring the only goal of the game a minute before time.

Crewe: Williams; Otsemobor (Woodards 74), Cox, Baudet, Moss; Jack (Higdon 88), Jones, Roberts, Rix; Lowe, Varney

Bradford: Ricketts, Edghill, Ainge, Bower, Parker, Bridge-Wilkinson, Colbeck (Hibbert 90), Daley (Bentham 64), Schumacher, Johnson (Dyer 83), Paynter

2 years later saw us travel to Roots Hall to face Southend United with Billy Jones scoring the only goal in the 34th minute.

Crewe: Ruddy; Woodards, Brayford, Broomes, Lawrence, Jones; Moore, O`Connor, Baudet, Donaldson (Daniel 54); Pope (Zola 90)

Southend: Mildenhall, Clarke, Sankofa (Laurent 61), Barrett, Dervite, Francis, McCormack, Moussa, Christophe, Freedman (Betsy 84), Robinson (Barnard 79)

The final game happened 3 years ago with a trip to the Keepmoat Stadium to face Doncaster Rovers. George Ray gave the visitors the lead in the 8th minute with Dean Furman equalising just after the hour-mark before Richie Wellens scoring the winner in the 90th minute.

Crewe: Garratt; Turton, Tate, Ray, Davis, Leigh; Grant, Jones (Nolan 73), Ness; Ajose (Dalla Valle 73, Cooper 82), Haber

Doncaster: Bywater, Stevens, Wabara, Butler, McCombe, Bennett (Razak 78), Furman, Keegan, Wellens, Ikpeazu (Main 74), Tyson