Date: 14th February 2018 at 5:25am
Written by:

There have been 5 games played on February 14th this century.

In 2006, we hosted Ipswich Town at the Alexandra Stadium. Steve Jones gave the Alex the lead after 15 minutes before goals in each half from Alan Lee and Dean McDonald gave the Tractor Boys the win.

Crewe: Turnbull; Otsemobor, Foster, Walker, Tonkin; Lunt, Roberts (Bell 62), B. Jones (Varney 73), S. Jones; Rodgers, Taylor

Ipswich: Supple, Castro, de Vos, Naylor, Richards, Wilnis (Magilton 49), Barron, Currie, Juan, Westlake, Lee (McDonald 34)

3 years later we travelled to Leyton Orient`s Matchroom Stadium with Steve Purches scoring the only goal of the game in the 11th minute.

Crewe: Ruddy; Brayford, Lawrence, Broomes, Jones; Woodards (Zola 81), Baudet (Carrington 61), Grant; Donaldson, Miller, Pope (Moore 75)

Orient: Jones, Demetriou, Spence, Chambers, Daniels, Mkandawire, Purches, Smith (Jarvis 80), Thornton, Boyd (Morgan 25), McGleish

2012 saw us host Burton Albion. Danny Shelley and Ashley Westwood gave the Alex a 2-goal lead before Callum Driver halved the deficit. Luke Murphy restored the gap before Calvin Zola`s 90th minute consolation gave Burton a late chance to get something out of the game.

Crewe: Phillips; Tootle, Davis, Tunnicliffe, Martin; Moore (Turton 46), Westwood, Murphy, Shelley (Clayton 76); Powell (Mellor 83), Miller

Burton: Atkins, Driver, Stanton, Austin, Blanchett, Bolder, Dyer, Gurrieri (Richards 52), Maghoma (Taylor 75), McGrath (Palmer 64), Zola

3 years ago saw Fleetwood Town arrived to South Cheshire with goals in each half from Nicky Ajose and Marcus Haber giving the hosts the win.

Crewe: Garratt, Turton, Ray, Tate, Davis, Leigh; Grant (Nolan 88), Jones, Ness; Ajose (Dalla Valle 85), Haber (Cooper 90)

Fleetwood: Maxwell, Jordan, McLaughlin, Roberts, Hughes, Morris, Crainey (Hunter 74), McAlinden, Sarcevic, Evans (Haughton 60), Ball (Proctor 60)

Last year saw us host Wycombe Wanderers. Chris Dagnall gave the hosts the lead in the 11th minute with Adebayo Akinfenwa levelling the score-line with 15 minutes to before a James Jones penalty in the 87th minute giving Crewe the win.

Crewe: Garratt; Turton, Ray, Nugent, Guthrie; Jones, Hollands (Wintle 21), Cooke; Dagnall (Kiwomya 75), Bowery, Cooper (Ng 89)

Wycombe: Blackman, Pierre (de Havilland 46), Stewart, Jombati, Kashket (Thompson 57), Wood (Saunders 68), Jacobson, Gape, O’Nien, Akinfenwa, Jakubiak