Date: 12th February 2018 at 5:11am
Written by:

There have been 6 games played on February 12th this century.

In 2005, we hosted Wigan Athletic at the Alexandra Stadium. Jason Roberts gave the visitors the lead in the 3rd minute whilst Andy White levelling the game just before half-time. A Nathan Ellington penalty and Roberts` second wrapped up the 3 points for the Latics in the final 25 minutes.

Crewe: Ince; McCready, Foster, Murdock, Tonkin; Lunt, Bell (Cochrane 87), Sorvel, Vaughan; Rivers (S. Jones 81), White (Higdon 74)

Wigan: Filan, Eaden, Breckin, Thome (Jackson 13), Baines, Bullard, Mahon (Jarrett 88), McCulloch, Ellington, Roberts, Teale

In 2007, travelled to the Keepmoat Stadium for the first ever time to face Doncaster Rovers in the second leg of the EFL Trophy Northern Area final. After a 3-3 draw at the Alexandra Stadium 2 week prior, it looked like the Alex were going to Cardiff for the final as Luke Varney and Ryan Lowe gave them a 2-goal lead at half-time before 2 goals from Paul Heffernan, the second a penalty, and a Jason Price 89th minute winner sent the hosts on their way to the Millenium Stadium.

Crewe: Williams; Otsemobor, Baudet, Bignot, Jones; Rix, Roberts (Higdon 90), O`Connor, Vaughan; Lowe (Maynard 76), Varney

Doncaster: Smith, Lockwood, O`Connor, S. Roberts (Nelthorpe 76), Lee, G. Roberts (Green 43), Stock (Thornton 70), Wilson, Coppinger, Price, Heffernan

A year later, we travelled to the Matchroom Stadium to face Leyton Orient with Nicky Maynard scoring the only goal of the game on 26 minutes.

Crewe: Williams; Woodards, O`Donnell, Baudet (Abbey 59), Boyle; Gary M. Roberts (Pope 79), Gary S. Roberts, Rix; Moore (Cox 68), Maynard

Leyton Orient: Nelson, Chambers, Daniels, Mkandawire (Oji 24), Purches, Saah, Corden (Gray 74), Terry, Barcham (Demetriou 33), Boyd, Ibehre

2010 saw the Alex travel to Burton Albion`s Pirelli Stadium. Shaun Miller gave the visitors the lead on 27 minutes with Shaun Harrad equalising a minute late before Clayton Donaldson, off the bench, grabbed the winner in the 84th minute.

Crewe: Phillips; Brayford, O`Donnell, Worley, Westwood; Murphy (Martin 90), Bailey, Walton; Moore, Miller (Donaldson 75), Grant

Burton: Krysiak, James, Parkes, Webster, Corbett, Maghoma, McGrath, Penn (Phillips 48), Taylor, Harrad (Walker 83), Kabba (Pearson 57)

A year later and Gillingham were the visitors to the Alexandra Stadium. A Tony Sinclair own goal gave the Alex the lead on 26 minutes before Curtis Weston levelled 9 minutes after the break.

Crewe: Taylor; Ada, Mitchel-King, Artell, Tootle; Murphy; Westwood, Bell, Shelley; Moore, Leitch-Smith

Gillingham: Julian, King (Sinclair 17), Nutter, Richards, Fuller, Jackman, Payne, Maher, Weston (Oli 71), Akinfenwa, McDonald (Bentley 90)

The final game occurred 5 years ago at home to AFC Bournemouth. Brett Pitman getting both goals for the visitors, the first a penalty, either side of a Mathias Pogba leveller.

Crewe: Phillips; Mellor, Ellis, Dugdale, Robertson; Aneke (Colclough 74), Murphy, Osman; Inman (Clayton 89), Leitch-Smith (Moore 74), Pogba

Bournemouth: Jalal, Cook, Seaborne, Francis, Arter, Hughes, O`Kane (MacDonald 84), Ritchie, McQuoid (Fogden 46), Grabban, Pitman (Tubbs 87)