Date: 7th August 2017 at 2:48am
Written by:

There have been two competitive fixtures on August 7th in the 25-year period, taking place in 2004 and 2010.

In the opening game of the 2003/04 season, Crewe Alexandra hosted Cardiff City at the Alexandra Stadium. Dean Ashton gave the hosts the lead with a 5th minute penalty before the game was turned on its head with goals from John Robinson and Alan Lee either side of half-time. Michael Higdon came off the bench for the Alex to score an 85th minute equaliser.

Crewe: Williams; B. Jones, Foster, Walker, Briggs; Lunt, Cochrane (Higdon 79), Sorvel, Vaughan; Ashton, Rivers (S. Jones 69)

Cardiff: Margetson; Gabbidon, Page, Weston (Croft 87), Vidmar; Bullock, Kavanagh, Langley, Robinson (Collins 81); Earnshaw (Campbell 74), Lee

In the opening game of the 2010/11 season, Crewe Alexandra hosted Hereford United at the Alexandra Stadium with Janos Kovacs scoring the only goal of the game for the visitors.

Crewe: Taylor; Tootle, Ada, Artell, Blanchett; Murphy, Westwood, Bell; Donaldson, Miller (Leitch-Smith 90), Zola (Grant 69)

Hereford: Bartlett; Green, Kovacs, Townsend, Valentine; Thompson, Colbeck, McQuilkin; Canham (Lunt 57), Fleetwood, Manset