Date: 24th August 2017 at 3:28am
Written by:

There have been four competitive fixtures on August 24th in the 25-year period, taking place in 2002, 2004, 2010 and 2013.

Starting with the game in 2002 where we travelled to Huddersfield Town`s Alfred McAlpine Stadium. Rob Hulse gave Crewe the visitors the lead in the 17th minute with Andy Booth equalising 9 minutes later.

Crewe: Ince; Foster, Sodje, Walker, Wright; Lunt, Brammer, Sorvel, Rix (Vaughan 29); Hulse, Ashton (Jack 80)

Huddersfield: Bevan; Jenkins, Moses, Youds, Sharp; Holland, Irons (Scott 81), Mattis, Thorrington; Booth (Stead 53), McDonald (Baldry 71)

Onto 2004 where Crewe hosted Blackpool in the League Cup. Steve Jones, Mark Rivers and Dean Ashton all scored in the opening 12 minutes to give the Alex a 3-0 lead before Jones added a second just before half-time. Scott Taylor scored a consolation 15 minutes from time for the Tangerines.

Crewe: Williams; B. Jones, Moses, Foster, Tonkin; S. Jones, Sorvel (Cochrane 46), Lunt, Vaughan; Ashton, Rivers

Blackpool: Jones; McGregor, Richardson, Clare, Edwards; Grayson, Bullock, Coid, Flynn; Parker, Taylor

Into 2010 now for another League Cup tie, this time a home game with Ipswich Town with David Norris scoring the only goal for the Tractor Boys in the 101st minute.

Crewe: Taylor; Tootle (Connerton 42), Ada, Artell, Blanchett; Murphy, Bell, Westwood; Donaldson, Miller (Moore 92), Grant (Shelley 103)

Ipswich: Murphy; Brown, McAuley, Smith, O`Dea (Peters 60); Edwards (Murray 60), O`Connor, Leadbitter, Hyam (Scotland 46), Norris; Priskin

The final game is a trip to Leyton Orient`s Matchroom Stadium in 2013. First half-goals from Moses Odubadjo and a Dave Mooney penalty were enough for the hosts to take the 3 points.

Crewe: Martin; Mellor (Molyneux 88), Davis, Ray, Tootle; Aneke, Osman (Turton 69), Grant; Clayton, Oliver (Inman 88), Colclough

Leyton Orient: Jones; Baudry, Clarke, Cuthbert, Omozusi; Odubajo (Gorman 65), James (Bartley 76), Vincelot, Cox; Lisbie, Mooney (Lasimant 83)