Date: 20th August 2017 at 4:28am
Written by:

There have been three competitive fixtures on August 20th in the 25-year period, taking place in 2005, 2011 and 2016.

Starting with the game in 2005 where we hosted Leicester City at the Alexandra Stadium. Luke Varney gave the hosts the lead inside the opening minute before Mark Rivers extended the lead in the 17th minute. Danny Tiatto scored in the final minute of the first half before Joey Gudjonsson penalty 5 minutes into the second period as both sides gained a point from the game.

Crewe: Williams; Moss, Moses, Walker, Tonkin; Rivers, Lunt, Roberts (B. Jones 67), Vaughan; Higdon (Ugarte 61), Varney

Leicester: Douglas; Maybury, McCarthy, Johansson, Gilbert; Sylla, Gudjonsson, Williams, Tiatto; Hammond, Dublin

Onto 2011 where Crewe travelled Shrewsbury Town`s New Meadow. Sean McAllister gave the hosts the lead mid-way through the first period before Nicky Wroe completed the job in second-half stoppage-time.

Crewe: Phillips; Davis, Artell, Dugdale, Martin; Westwood, Bell (Clayton 70), Murphy; Moore (Powell 60), Leitch-Smith, Miller

Shrewsbury: Smith; Cansdell-Sherriff, Grandison, Sharps, Jacobson; McAllister, Wright, Wroe, Ainsworth (Richards 89); Gornell (Collins 82), Morgan

The final game on this day saw us travel to Newport County`s Rodney Parade. Alex Kiwomya scored in the 16th minute before Sean Rigg equalised for the Exiles 9 minutes from time.

Crewe: Garratt; Turton, Davis, Guthrie, Bakayago; Kiwomya, Jones, Bingham (Hollands 62), Cooper (Ray 62); Dagnall (Ainley 90), Lowe

Newport: Day; Jones, Bennett, Turley (Parkin 23), Butler; Green (Barnum-Bobb 19), Labadie (Tozer 72), Randall; Myrie-Williams, Jackson, Rigg