Date: 18th August 2017 at 3:40am
Written by:

There have been five competitive fixtures on August 18th in the 25-year period, taking place in 2001, 2007, 2009, 2012 and 2015.

Starting with the game in 2001 where we hosted Sheffield Wednesday at the Alexandra Stadium. Gerald Sibon gave the Owls the lead after 4 minutes before Paul McLaren added a second 20 minutes from time.

Crewe: Bankole, Navarro, Sodje, Walton, Smith; Lunt, Brammer (Little 74), Charnock (Collins 46), Jack; Hulse, Tait (Richards 79)

Sheff Wed: Pressman; Hendon, Bromby, Maddix, Geary; Haslam, McLaren (Morrison 90), Quinn (Lescott 86), Soltvedt; Ekoku, Sibon

Onto 2007 where Crewe travelled to play Bristol Rovers at the Memorial Stadium. Craig Disley gave the hosts the lead on 32 minutes before Tom Pope equalised a couple of minutes later.

Crewe: Williams; Woodards, Baudet, McCready (O`Donnell 46), Jones; Roberts, Cox, Schumacher (Lynch 90), Rix; Dickson (Miller 73), Pope

Bristol Rovers: Phillips; Anthony, Carruthers (Igoe 74), Elliott, Jacobsen (Haldane 60); Pipe, Lescott, Disley, Campbell; Lambert, Walker (Williams 65)

2 years later saw Crewe travel to Darlington`s Northern Echo Stadium with Calvin Zola scoring the only goal 3 minutes from time.

Crewe: Button; Brayford, Worley, Ada, Jones; Mitchel-King, Schumacher, Verma; Moore (Elding 78), Zola, Grant (Donaldson 70)

Darlington: Knight; Miller, Bower, Plummer, Arnison (Bains 46); Cook (J. Smith 58), Chandler, G. Smith, Porritt; Dowson (Main 70), Thorpe

In 2012, we hosted Notts County at the Alexandra Stadium. Francois Zoko and Yoann Arquin gave County a 2-goal lead before Mathias Pogba halved the lead with 17 minutes to go.

Crewe: Martin; Davis (Mellor 90), Dugdale, Ellis, Robertson; Moore, Westwood, Osman (Murphy 66), Leitch-Smith, Pogba, Clayton

Notts County: Bialkowski; Kelly, Hughes, Leacock, Williams (Labadie 13, Mahon 89); Judge, Bishop, Middle, Sheenan; Arquin, Zoko (Hughes 64)

The final game on this day saw us travel to Coventry`s Ricoh Arena. John Fleck gave the Sky Blues the lead in the 14th minute before Brad Inman equalised on the half-hour. Adam Armstrong again gave the hosts the lead before Marcus Haber equalised a couple of minutes later with Jim O`Brien giving Coventry the win 7 minutes from time.

Crewe: Garratt; Turton. Ray, Nugent, Guthrie; King (Atkinson 84), Fox, Bingham; Inman, Haber (Cooper 78), Colclough (Dalla Valle 74)

Coventry: Burge; Willis, Ricketts, Johnson, Stokes; Lameiras (Murphy 60), Fleck, Maddison (Tudgay 84), Vincelot, O`Brien (Morris 90); Armstrong