Date: 16th August 2017 at 3:44am
Written by:

There have been five competitive fixtures on August 16th in the 25-year period, taking place in 2003, 2008, 2011, 2014 and 2016.

Starting with the game in 2003 where we hosted Ipswich Town at the Alexandra Stadium with Kenny Lunt getting the only goal of the game on 69 minutes.

Crewe: Ince, Foster, McCready, Moses, Wright; Lunt, Brammer, Cochrane, Rix (Bell 90); S. Jones, Ashton

Ipswich: Davis; Wilnis, Naylor, Diallo, Makin; Miller, Magilton, Santos (Wright 46), Reuser (Counago 46); D. Bent, M. Bent

5 years later saw Crewe travel to Carlisle United`s Brunton Park. 2 Danny Graham goals gave the Carlisle a 2-goal lead before Chris McCready halved the deficit mid-way through the first half. Scott Dobie and Simon Hackney extended the Cumbrians` lead before Tom Pope scored a consolation 4 minutes from time.

Crewe: Collis; Woodards, McCready (Abbey 83), Baudet, Jones; Moore (Daniel 84), Bailey, O`Connor, Grant; Elding (Miller 70), Pope

Carlisle: Williams; Raven, Livesey, Murphy, Horwood; Bridge-Wilkinson, Hackney, Thirlwell; Carlton (Taylor 83), Dobie (Bridges 64), Graham

In 2011, we hosted Rotherham United at the Alexandra Stadium. Adam Le Fondre opened the scoring for the Millers in the 15th minute with Ben Pringle doubling it on 72 minutes before Byron Moore scored a couple of minutes later.

Crewe: Phillips; Shelley (Powell 83), Artell, Dugdale, Martin; Murphy, Westwood, Bell; Moore, Leitch-Smith (Clayton 77), Miller

Rotherham: Logan; Taylor (Marshall 85), Cresswell, Raynes, Newey; Evans, Tonge, Harrison, Schofield; Grabban (Pringle 65), Le Fondre

3 years later saw a home league game against Barnsley. Billy Waters opened the scoring mid-way through the first half before Leroy Lita equalised in the 57th minute before Martin Cranie scored the winner 15 minutes from time.

Crewe: Shearer; Tootle, Ray, Dugdale, Leigh (Guthrie 90); Turton (Haber 81), Grant, Ness; Waters, Oliver, Inman (Molyneux 74)

Barnsley: Davies; Brown, Nyatanga, Cranie, Dudgeon; Berry, Bailey, Hourihane, Treacy (Bree 72); Lita (Digby 78), Winnall (Oates 89)

The final game of this round-up came last year with Crewe hosting Hartlepool United. Chris Dagnall gave the hosts the lead on the half-hour mark before Carl Magnay levelled things 3 minutes before half-time with Alex Kiwomya giving Crewe the half-time lead. George Cooper would double that lead 10 minutes after the break before goals from Padraig Amond and Magnay`s second of the game gave both sides a share of the points.

Crewe: Garratt; Turton, Davis, Guthrie, Bakayago; Kiwomya, Jones, Bingham, Cooper (Kirk 74); Lowe, Dagnall

Hartlepool: Carson; Bates, Nsiala, Magnay, Carroll; Deverdics (Woods 58), Thomas, Featherstone (Laurent 90); Alessandra, Amond, Paynter