Date: 7th April 2020 at 8:00am
Written by:

In this column, we look at how Crewe Alexandra have done on this day in the previous 20 years.

2002 – Crewe 0-0 Crystal Palace:

The first game of this round-up came 18 years ago with Crystal Palace making the journey to the Alexandra Stadium with neither team able to get on the scoresheet.

Alex: Bankole; Wright, Walton, Sodje (Foster 83), Smith; Jack, Sorvel, Lunt, Whalley (Vaughan 83); Ashton, Hulse

2007 – Chesterfield 2-1 Crewe:

The second game saw a trip to Chesterfield’s Saltergate. Shaun Miller gave the Alex the lead on 8 minutes before Aaron Downes would level the score 21 minutes later with Paul Shaw scoring the winner midway through the second half. Future loanee midfielder Jamie Lowry came on for the final 20 minutes for the hosts.

Alex: Williams; Bignot, Baudet, Cox, Moss; Lowe, Jones, Roberts, McNamee (Vaughan 66); Higdon (Jack 71), Miller (Maynard 60)

2013 – Crewe 2-0 Southend United (EFL Trophy Final):

Game 3 saw the Alex travel to Wembley Stadium to play in the then Johnstone’s Paint Trophy final against Southend. Luke Murphy gave the Alex the lead on 6 minutes (as the applause began to celebrate the short-life of defender Adam Dugdale’s youngster on the number of his squad number at the time) with Max Clayton scoring the second 4 minutes after half-time to give the Railwaymen their first trophy since back-to-back Welsh Cup successes in the 1930s.

Alex: Phillips; Mellor, Davis, Ellis, Tootle; Moore, Murphy, Osman, Inman (Colclough 69); Aneke (Ray 90), Clayton (Leitch-Smith 83)

2018 – Mansfield Town 3-4 Crewe:

The final game saw a trip to the One Call Stadium to face Mansfield. Goals from James Jones and Jordan Bowery saw the Alex race into a 2-goal lead inside the first 10 minutes before Lee Angol would reduce the deficit after 15 minutes. Harry Pickering and Charlie Kirk would see the Alex go 4-1 ahead before the half-hour mark before CJ Hamilton and Ricky Miller would score for the hosts in the second half. Former loanee midfielder Adam King was an unused sub for the hosts.

Alex: Garratt; Sterry (Ng 79), Ray, Nolan, Pickering; Jones, Wintle, Green; Bowery, Miller (McKirdy 65), Kirk (Raynes 59)